Late Night Walks

Chicago Skyline Lake Michigan Beach

No matter what the temperature is or what day it may be, one of my favorite things to do in the world is go for late night walks along the Lake Michigan Beach in Chicago. It has always been a sort of sanctuary to me. Maybe it’s the sound of the cars speeding along Lake Shore Drive, the few joggers passing by, the cool breeze trailing off from the lake or the waves moving back and forth from the edge of the sand as if the lake was gently breathing. Whatever it may be, it has a hold on me. When ever I need to clear my head or just need to take a walk, I do not hesitate to get in my car and drive to the beach. It’s more than just a quick escape from reality; it’s almost like a best friend (if a place can be considered a best friend) where you get comfort, can let go and can open up and be yourself at. I walk along the path, with the Chicago skyline in the distant, I recall the familiar scenery although every visit I seem to notice something different. I tell myself that I’m there for photography which I do most of the time, but often find myself searching for sea shells hiding within the sand or skipping rocks as I watch them disappear in the night. Just maybe, these are the reasons why late night walks on the beach are one of my favorite things to do in the world.

 

See More Chicago Beach Photography: Chasing the Sunrise | The Quiet Life

facebook  twitter (2)  Flickr

4 thoughts on “Late Night Walks

  1. Pingback: You’ll Find Me Watching the Waves | Paul Aparicio Photography

  2. Pingback: Memorial Day | Paul Aparicio Photography

  3. Pingback: Living Above | Paul Aparicio Photography

  4. Pingback: Face to Face | Paul Aparicio Photography

What do you think?

