Living Above

Living Above

When thinking about this picture I was quickly reminded of a book I read some time ago called Delirious New York by an architect named Rem Koolhaas. It reminded me about vertical living. How instead of sprawling north, south, east or west, we instead went up. I recall reading  about how the invention of the elevator allowed hundreds of people live and work on the same plot of land but have completely different lives. How every floor can open up to a different world and you never know until the doors open and you step out. I know I am rambling about what may seem as nonsense, but that is what I love so much about photography. A picture of a Chicago high rise reminds me of a book I read in college, it reminds me of how something as simple as an elevator has changed and molded the urban city as we know it, but more importantly it reminds me of the different worlds people live in. Right now, in this moment, people are going to work, reading a book, eating lunch, walking in the park, flying in a plane or just writing a blog. It just makes me think.


 

See More Chicago Photography: Up Up & Away | Late Night Walks | Chasing the Sunrise

facebook  twitter (2)  Flickr

2 thoughts on “Living Above

  1. Pingback: Ripple Effect | Paul Aparicio Photography

What do you think?

